This is a journal of my vegetable gardens. Skippy was my first dog and he thought the garden was his, even though I did all the work. But Skippy always stood by me and was a great friend. Now Suzie and Charley follow in his footsteps and garden with me. We're located near Boston (USDA zone 6A). I have a community plot, a backyard vegetable garden, fruit trees and berry bushes, chickens and bees. I use sustainable organic methods and do my best to grow all of my family's vegetables myself.

Thursday, December 22, 2011

winter solstice

Its all uphill from here on in!!! A little more light everyday - a little closer to spring planting season.

The winter solstice occurs Thursday at 12:30 a.m. EST (0530 GMT), which corresponds to 9:30 p.m. PST on Wednesday for observers further west. At the time, the sun will be passing over the over the Tropic of Capricorn.
from Space on MSNBC.com

2 Comments:

Blogger blueberry1946 said...

It's almost like I can see the extended daylight time daily by the time January comes around!

December 28, 2011 12:40 PM

 
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Yeah I was going to say your counter on the side was off and set for December 20th but should of been set for December 22nd.

Can't wait for more sunshine and warmer temperatures.

December 28, 2011 5:30 PM

 

Post a Comment

<< Home















your ad here

    kathy@skippysgarden.com


Irrigation Direct Drip irrigation kits from Irrigation Direct













garden garden garden garden garden garden garden garden garden garden